Pet Peeves and Miscellaneous Commentary

Pet peeves…everyone has them. One of my biggest pet peeves is when people say they’re “fat” when they don’t practice good eating habits, but think that eating all the junk in the world won’t hurt them. News flash there–it DOES hurt!

Yes, I have pet peeves. Many of them. My biggest pet peeve lately is the people who scream constantly about how “fat” they are, when they don’t DO anything to counteract it. I hear “Oh, I’ve got to lose a thousand pounds…” and then I see the same person going out for drinks/fast food/whatever. No, I *don’t* know what happens when I’m not looking, but when I hear the constant trumpeting about weight, I get tense. And annoyed.

I’m a “plus sized” woman. I won’t deny it. I don’t exercise regularly. (Jumping to conclusions is not exercise, no matter what I think. Neither is talking about losing weight. Darn, wish it was!)
I don’t eat right. To eat “right”, you need to incorporate portion sizes, vegetables and healthy fruit. It doesn’t include scarfing down a box of french fries (which, yes, I have done). It means paying attention to portions. It means measuring, weighing. Half a pizza or an entire pizza is NOT a portion.
I’m working with a personal trainer and one of the things she’s got me doing is documenting my food intake (when I remember to!) I can see that I’m not eating right. For one, I don’t see hardly any veggies in my diet. That’s got to change and I know it. I made lasagna for dinner last night and even though it was loaded with cheese, I did add spinach to it to make it different. It was very different. I’ll have to play with that idea.

My point is, don’t sit there and whine that you’re fat or that you’ve got to lose weight if you’re not going to walk the walk or talk the talk. It serves to annoy people.

Another peeve is when people take pictures of themselves in a huge group, posing with all their buddies, and then point out their flaws, saying “I’m so fat.” Some of us might be in that group and might be offended by seeing you, who are SKINNY, bitching about your weight. Some of us truly have weight problems. ALL of us have self-esteem issues, surely!!!

Now I know, it’s not really cool to be griping about people’s eating habits. I will be the first one to admit that I’m a horrible eater! I don’t eat enough veggies. I don’t eat enough fruit.
For a snack at work today, I ate Fritos. FRITOS!! (10g FAT, thank you very little!!) Good eating, but not good for you. I know. My little demon on my shoulder chewed me out as I ate them. I’m not going to feel guilty. I can’t keep doing that to myself. No beating myself up…”just keep swimming”, in the words of Dori, the fish from Finding Nemo (copyright Disney/Pixar).

So there. I admitted that I have flaws. I am learning to overcome the negative comments in my head that tell me I’m useless, blah, blah, blah. I’m not going to listen to them. I’m not going to listen to the ugly spectre of a voice from my past, telling me how “fat” I am, how ‘ugly’ I am, how ‘useless’ I am. I am Curvy. I am BEAUTIFUL!! My husband likes me as I am. I need to not listen to that nasty little voice. I am who I am.

About Marguerite Nico

First degree black belt, mother, stressed individual, Tai Chi student and now add crazy college graduate, Class of 2017
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

