Weekend

With every “diet”, you have to do SOMETHING to help accelerate your weight loss. You can’t just expect the weight to “melt off”, which a lot of plans claim to do. It needs something to jump start the metabolism and burn off those calories! The only other way I’ve been able to lose weight was to get Strep ia few years ago. I don’t recommend THAT as a way to lose weight! It’s only temporary and when you finally feel like you can eat, you’re going to put on the weight you lost again.

When I was following Weight Watchers from 2006-2007, I was also in martial arts on a regular basis and was getting in at least an hour of exercise every other day. At that time, I was building up to testing for my black belt and needed to work out extensively. I was somewhat following WW…just not documenting the food I was eating as regularly as I could have been. I was working out for 2 1/2 hours in the mornings on Saturdays and found that it was a catalyst for my weight loss. I enjoyed that.

I rejoined Weight Watchers this weekend because I truly think I’m ready for another go-round. I’m trying it on my own, but I’ve set a teeny-tiny goal…I’m going to work on 5% of my body weight. I think it’s a healthy goal.

One of the things I’m doing is that I’m keeping in my mind that this is NOT a race. I’m in this for the long haul. It may be exactly why I failed all the other times I tried to go down this path. Well, no, the grapefruit thing wasn’t a “fail”. It was truly gross. Poor grapefruit…I don’t like it and to this day, as I’ve said before, I won’t eat it!

So here we go again. Another round of WW. Since I’m starting at a smaller goal to begin with, and my rewards are so much more enlightening (think manicures, non-food related rewards). I’m feeling pretty darned good right now.

About Marguerite Nico

First degree black belt, mother, stressed individual, Tai Chi student and now add crazy college graduate, Class of 2017
This entry was posted in Dieting, Self expression, Uncategorized, Weight control, Weight loss. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

