Confessions of a Cereal Dieter

I’m a serial (cereal) dieter.  I’ve been on diets all my life.  It’s not pretty.  I’ve been on more diets in my 45 years than anyone should ever consider.  It’s been crazy.  I am going to post my thoughts and my life-long journey of weight loss on this blog.  I’m posting a LOT here, so let me be the first to warn you that I have things that will be said that can be very ugly.   I’m not having a pity-party.  I’m over being distressed by some of it as it happened many years gao.

Growing up in Washington state,  I had issues as a child with weight.  Parental types were not pleased to have a “fat” child and made sure it was well known.  There were the the enforced “diets” where no food was made available.  There were the mean comments, which to a 6-7 year old (or older) cut to the bone and HURT.  Things like “you’re going to have your clothes specially made for you by Omar the Tentmaker because you’re so fat!”  Yeah, that sort of thing.

I learned to escape some of the hurtful things by turning to sneaking food at night. When the rest of the family would go to bed, I can clearly remember getting up and snacking on frozen taco shells (ewww!).  I remember eating ice cream out of the carton, at night.

My stepfather was abusive to my mother.  He used to beat her on a regular basis.  He also played an abuse game with his step-children, but this isn’t about that.  I hold no ill feelings about it now. It’s helped shape who I am.  Again, I’m not out for a pity party.  I’m stating facts, helping lay down a foundation of who I am.

Sooo, dealing with weight has been a life-long trial.  I’ve had a lot of things that have occurred in my life and I’m going to be as factual as possible, but also put in my feelings about things here.

You’re welcome to come along for a ride.

About Marguerite Nico

First degree black belt, mother, stressed individual, Tai Chi student and now add crazy college graduate, Class of 2017
This entry was posted in Dieting, Self expression, Weight control, Weight loss. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

